A Zeus approved dessert.

Day 8:

I previewed the cafeteria (or as we call it, the barf-eteria) menu yesterday and found they were serving Double Chocolate Gooey Butter Cake. The name says it all. It is very chocolately, gooey, buttery and cakey. It’s sort of a chocolate cheesecake/cake. Honestly, I don’t know what those lunch ladies with their little hair nets do back behind the counter, but this stuff is food of the gods. I hear Mount Olympus serves it every Friday. It rival’s Eryka’s banana bread. I KNOW. Crazy, right? So I saved up for it.

I had a 2 point breakfast. No gruel this time though. Thank the gods. Lunch was veggie stir fry for 1 point, leaving plenty of point room for the probable-million point cake. One bite, made it all worth it. If I could eat this cake every day, I would not eat until, um, at least 10 a.m. A 2 point-ish salad for supper and I was done.

Ironically, this was the first day of me doing weight watchers where I wasn’t starving the better part of the day. I must have discovered the secret: Double Chocolate Gooey Butter Cake.

Again, Nichole offered me a sinful, sugary sweet. She had a pack of those little cinnamon sugar doughnuts. Silly girl offered to share them with me. So I had one. But I didn’t add it to my point tally because I have an unspoken rule: Eat it in one bite and it doesn’t count. This is true for a spoonful of cottage cheese, a swig of milk straight from the jug (which really doesn’t count because I am not even dirtying up a glass) or for a couple chips.

Lesson learned: Double Chocolate Gooey Butter Cake may be the secret to staying full.

I’ve been walking/pretending to run on the treadmill almost every day. This also allows me to catch up on Chelsea Lately episodes. Apparently, she DID start dating the handsome Dave Salmoni but they broke up almost as quickly as they began. Boo. Oh, well. He’s probably too nice a guy for her anyway. Don’t get me wrong, Chelsea, you are really great, but you know how you can be. Just take it out on Jo Koi.

My treadmill sessions are much longer if I am watching TV. I don’t watch very much TV anyway, so I just tell myself if I want to finish whatever I am watching, I have to do it while walking. I get so bored though. Sometime I organize my jewelry box while I walk/watch TV. It sits on the tall lingerie chest next to the treadmill. I tend to just throw necklaces and earrings up there when I get home instead of putting them where they belong. Once the pile is big enough that I can’t see the top of the chest or find my wedding ring anymore, I clean it all off.  It’s kind of hard to do it, because I have to turn sideways but keep walking straight. I haven’t fallen off more than twice. I’m a fast learner.

I’m planning my next two week trial. And no, it doesn’t involve panties of any kind. But I’ll keep it a surprise for now.

Well, my kiddo is in bed, the dogs and cats are fed, and the kitchen isn’t clean but the lights are off in there, so that’s just as good. Jordan is watching football and I am near falling asleep, but we are going to attempt to watch a movie called The Losers. I can’t remember what it is about but it must have looked good because Netflix sent it to me today, and I am the one that makes the queue. Chances are one or both of us will be asleep in the next 20 minutes.

I’ll leave you with this:http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081123113206AAFkgLX

This entry was posted in Trial One: Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Zeus approved dessert.

  1. Mathurini says:

    Love it- sounds just like heaven!

  2. Judy says:

    Is that the chocolate stuff Jamie & you used to get for me sometimes? I haven’t had any in a long time. I have had 2 pans of homemade fugde the last 2 weeks ( the kind Grandma makes). A friend from church keeps bringing it to me. I think I’ve had all the points I would be allowed for the rest of the year! If I did WW -which is why I don’t. I love my chocolate!!!!!

    • Wendy says:

      That was Chocolate Cobbler. They’ve only served that once or twice in the past year and a half! We all miss it! This stuff is close, but not as good.

  3. Jane says:

    I have to say that if you can turn sideways and sort your shelves out, well, I don’t think you’re walking fast enough!!

    I meant to suggest an oats alternative. I can’t face a bowl of hot gluey oats either so what I do is put 1/3 cup in a bowl overnight with some milk and either frozen blueberries or cranberries and a handful of nuts. Then in the morning the oats is nice and soft but still with a bit of bite to it.

    • Wendy says:

      That sounds good. I may have to try that. I walk about 4 miles an hour, sometimes a little faster. I think that may be while I come close to falling off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

