Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy and some birthday cake.

Day 8 and 9:

I heard a piece on NPR that was about football, and get this: I was actually interested! I know! It was about cumulative hits taken and given by players, like linemen, and how even if you don’t get a concussion, those hits still add up and are just as bad. Players get hit and hit others thousands of times. They often lead with their head. This can lead to CTE (chronic traumatic encephalopathy) which includes depression, erratic behavior and dementia. Many deceased football players have now been revealed to have had it. Officials think that it may have led to the suicide of a young player at the University of Pennsylvania. It is an interesting article,  so check it out. It makes me want to pad Riley up in a foam mattress and those packages of bagged air we get in shipments at work before his Dad shoves him onto a football field. (Why didn’t I invent air in a bag? I would be so rich.)

Some more pics:

San Francisco 49ers and Kansas City Chiefs: I chose this one by who pays teachers more. The average salary for a teacher in Cali is 59,000ish versus 40,000 ish for Missouri. Add yes, I totally had to lookup which Kansas City the Chiefs hail from. Jordan chooses Kansas.

Detriot Lions and Minnesota Vikings: Largest state…  Minnesota covers 84,402 square miles while Michigan covers 58, 527. Jordan has the Vikings.

Buffalo Bills and New England Patriots: I let best colors decide this one. I just asked Jordan what their colors were. Turns out they are both red and blue, but I can’t change how I decided to pick now. He also said the Patriots throw some silver in there, so let’s go with the Patriots. Jordan also picks Patriots.

His picks from my last blog: Titans, Steelers, Bengals, Cowboys, and Ravens. (Here I realized that I wrote Baltimore Orioles in my last post. Clearly no one who reads my blog knows any more about football than I do. Shame on you, James. 😉 They are the Ravens.

By the way, I did get my submission for the contest done. Barely. I got it in about 2 hours before the deadline. Nothing like cutting it close! If (yeah right) I win, I’ll be sure to post it and let you know.

It has been a LONG day. Errands this morning, we built three raised beds for our garden, and we just got back from my Grandmother’s 80th birthday party. They had the BIGGEST Italian Creme cake I have ever seen in my life. It weighed more than my toddler. Too bad I hate coconut and pecans. We are about to watch The Book of Eli and pass out on the couch.

Ciao.

This entry was posted in Trial Two: Fantasy Football and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

