Should I outsource my blog to India?

Don’t you hate when you sit down to write your blog and then you get distracted by other people’s blogs? I’ve been reading about the Never-ending Happy Meal (thanks, Hannah!) and Karen Owens sex thesis and once again, spending entirely too long one one of my favorite sites :www.shitmykidsruined.com

So, an hour and a half later, here I am…

I read another of Jordan’s Grandmother’s mags tonight: Good Housekeeping from this past May. I took it because it was the 125th Anniversary. I liked it and wish I would have taken the other 15 in the pile. Oh well.

Dog earring pages as I go, I found an article about meditation as pain relief for my grandmother, one about Vitamin D for my boss, and one about dividing household chores and how it is good for your marriage for my husband. (heehee) I also learned that brushing, flossing and visiting the dentist can help ward off dementia and other chronic diseases. The culprit? Gum-disease causing bacteria. Our body responds to this bug with inflammation, which stiffens blood vessels. That can lead to heart problems and memory issues. As a side note, I have never had a cavity. I think this is because I am terrified of THE DRILL, or whatever goes on in there when cavities are involved. It can’t be good.

I mastered “60 seconds to Sanity” which I could have used at work today, dealing with customer service personnel in India. You’d think I’d have more sympathy since watching Outsourced. I know have a breathing technique that will allow me to calm my nerves, lower my stress levels and help me not reached through the phone and wring the “customer service” dude’s scrawny little neck.

Since it was the 125th Anniversary of the mag, they did a piece on 125 Women Who Changed Our World. Number 1 on the list: Oprah. I thought about stopping there, but continued reading for a while, until I realized how long it would take to read 125 paragraphs. Too long for these tired eyes. Other people on the list include: Hillary Clinton (I know, I laughed too. If she had divorced Bill after the Lewinsky mess, then I might not have laughed), Mother Teresa, Michelle Obama (Really? I mean, how long have we known her? Like 2 seconds? And she is on the list as the 6th woman who changed are world? Out of ALL the women in the whole world? Name me one thing she has done to change the world… no googling allowed. Give the women some time before you put her as #6, BEFORE Princess Diana, Marie Curie, and Amelia Earhart.)

A Drew Barrymore CoverGirl ad introduced me to lipSTAIN, instead of lipSTICK, so I will be trying that. Also added to my shopping list is a refillable bamboo compact. I skipped the article about teaching your children how NOT to have a car wreck, since Riley is still safely strapped head to toe in his car seat, and not behind the wheel, and read one entitled” Five Ideas for Shredded Carrots”. These include a sloppy joe, feta salad, cake, beef dish and onion patties.

I marked about 5 new recipes for my recipe notebook (How’s yours Jenna? Still in a shoebox?) because Good Housekeeping promises they are delicious. They make every recipe at least three times, using different ovens, ingredients and dishes, to make sure it will turn out for even the worst of cooks (hot tip, Heather!)

I finished with a short note from a blogger (yes, a blog in a magazine… is that weird?). She wrote 17 points of advice she would give her daughter if she had one. #17 struck home with me: “Someday, that girl who is horrible to you now will request to be your Facebook friend. And though your cursor will linger a long and delicious moment above the ‘ignore’ button, you will click on ‘confirm’ instead – and know that you have grown up.”

I, apparently, have not grown up.

This entry was posted in Trial Three: Magazines and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Should I outsource my blog to India?

  1. Jenna says:

    Yes, operation: organized recipes is still in a box somewhere. By “somewhere” I really mean I have no idea where. Find some way to copy yours and save me the grief of (yet another) unfished project! lol =)

  2. Wendy says:

    I’ll just pop it in my copier/teleportation device. Expect it shortly…

  3. dang… Hannah, Jenna and Heather. Not once did I read my name, sheesh, just for that I’m not going to watch Tropic Thunder! haha

Leave a Reply

