Trash Can Punch

Today’s kitchen gadget was so easy. I got home at 4:30 and it was done by 4:45. This is including changing closes, getting hugs from Riley and saying bye to Jordan for the night. I made punch in a punch bowl I can’t remember ever using. It is a really pretty glass bowl with pink roses we got at our wedding. I have no idea who gave it to us, but knowing I would rarely if ever need it, I kept it anyway because it was too pretty to part with.

BUT, I also used a mug in a dishes set we save for when the Queen comes over (she hasn’t made it yet, so the dishes still sit in waiting). You may recognize it from the same set as my creamer and sugar bowl. AND I used my potato masher. Yes, a potato masher. I made the punch out of sprite and citrus sherbert. The sherbert stayed in chunks so I mashed them up with the “vintage” potato masher that I think I stole from my mom, who most likely used it for decoration, seeing how she never makes anything that can’t be cooked in the microwave. Did you know you can bake a cake in the microwave? Well, you can! Just consult my mom’s microwave cookbook! While we are on the subject, my mom had to get a new microwave because her old one started shutting off after 20 minutes of continuous use. My first question, as is yours, was “what are you cooking for 20 minutes?” The answer? “You know, supper.” My mom, everyone! She’ll be here all night!

I took some punch to my Grandmother, who is always impressed with my “cooking”. She is easy to please. She lives off .98 cent frozen TV dinners so anything other than mystery meat and plastic green beans wins her over. If I make a new recipe and we hate it, I just take it to her. She’s like Mikey… She’ll eat anything. (If it’s free – maybe that is where I get it from, Amy!)

The punch was pretty tasty… you can’t really go wrong with an ice cream related item and a coke. Or an alcohol related item and coke. No where did I put that Everclear…?

Finally using my fancy punch bowl was nice, though I thought it a little unclassy to be dipping punch out with my black, plastic ladle from the dollar store. Once I got down to the bottom and couldn’t reach anymore punch with the spoon, I just poured it into my mug. How’s that for class? Then I left three sticky kitchen gadgets in the sink for Jordan to wash.

This entry was posted in Trial Four: Kitchen Gadgets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trash Can Punch

  1. Judy says:

    So that’s where my potato masher went. I went to get it for something – I think to smash up some cream cheese – & couldn’t find it. I had to but a new one. That’s okay though, it looks better thatn the one you STOLE!

  2. GoVolsGo says:

    Another shout out to me…love it! I could be famous very soon.

Leave a Reply

