Beaches, Shoes and fights over Nutella.

Five more things I am thankful for:

The beach. Not the DiCaprio movie, the actual beach. Though I don’t get to go to a good beach (or any beach for the matter) very often, I relish the thought of lounging in the sand, with a good book and a Pina Colada. This has never happened, but I hope one day to be able to afford a trip that will entail those fantasies. Maybe a cruise… I love the feel of the sand, the cool water, the seagulls, the wind, the shells; all of it. Except that grimy feeling on your skin when you leave. We mainly go to Galveston – the closest beach around here. The sand is dull, the water is laughably UNclear, and the seaweed clutters the shore. But still, it is a beach, so I’ll take it.

Adorable Baby Clothes. I was NEVER one of those people to gush at other’s babies. I didn’t want to hold them or be forced to ogle over them. Baby items did nothing for my maternal instinct. Kids generally annoyed me. My own sister was worried I wouldn’t like my nephew. But now that I have had my own little one, things have changed. My heart breaks when I hear a baby cry. I am one of those crazy ladies at WalMart peering into you basket trying to catch a glimpse of your new little snuggly one. My heart warms when I see boys my son’s age. And those tiny little baby shoes? Sometimes they bring tears to my eyes when I think about how little my kiddo used to be.

Nutella. The first fight my husband and I had as a married couple was on our honeymoon. And it was over Nutella. For those of you that don’t know what Nutella is, it is a rich, creamy, chocolate hazelnut spread. I’m not big on Hazelnuts, but this stuff is killer. We were in Paris, and we got crepes nearly every day. They kept offering us Nutella, but we had never heard of it and we were afraid to try it and possible ruin our delicious banana and chocolate sauce dessert. One day while at the zoo, we decided to spring for it. We got a big, thick waffle dripping with warm Nutella. The idea was to share it, but I felt I deserved more than my half, being the woman of the relationship and all. Jordan wasn’t budging on the issue, so I stomped off to another exhibit while he finished of the yummy waffle. He says he doesn’t remember it. But when it comes to a girl and her choclate, we remember everything.

Flowers. I love getting flowers, giving flowers, growing them, smelling them, picking them. Riley likes eating them. You can make a room cheery just by adding some fresh flowers. We used to pick my mom flowers when we were little. I am sure she was grateful, but I do remember two frequent comments about our gestures: “That is just a weed’ and “stop picking those or they won’t grow back.” In the first one, she was talking about those tall yellow weeds that mess up your yard. I thought they were pretty flowers (and still do) so I would pick them for her. The second refers to a wild kind of “pink” that grew on the side of the road (ditch) in our neighborhood (trailer park). There weren’t a lot there, and she was afraid we would pick them bare and they wouldn’t seed out and return again the next year. (I still remember that for a reason, Mom. It was detrimental to my emotional and mental well being.) So in my house, when Riley brings me weeds, I will exclaim, “what beautiful flowers!”

Chapstick. I can’t believe I am a week into this thing and I haven’t mentioned chapstick/lip gloss/lip balm/whatever. I cannot LIVE without chapstick. If I leave the house in a hurry, I am at least sure to grab a tube or three of chapstick. If I was on survivor, my one luxury item would be chapstick. If the world was coming to an end by way of ball of fire, and stores were being looted for water and canned goods, I would take all the chapstick. I can’t help it. It is a compulsive addiction.

This entry was posted in Trial Six: Thanksgivings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beaches, Shoes and fights over Nutella.

  1. Jane says:

    I have to say no to the cruise sorry. A friend of mine went on one recently and she told me that there were 900 kids on it. I can’t imagine anything worse. Plus I can’t swim so the idea of being a long long way from land worries me.

  2. Evgenia says:

    And one of the things I am thankful for is your blog 🙂 I hope you did not abandon it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

