My chosen pursuit.

Career: (kə-rîr’) n.

1) A chosen pursuit; a profession or occupation.

2) The general course or progression of one’s working life or one’s professional achievements.

What my career was supposed to be: working with animals in some exotic locale. I like to think in my Fringe alternate universe, that there is a much cooler me. She is either traveling the world in search of new wild animals or curating the Lourve or photographing ocean life. Maybe she is teaching yoga in the mountains of Mongolia and living in a yurt or baking French pastries in Paris, crashing at an awesome pad with a view of the Eiffel Tower. Perhaps, she is a writer, living in Manhattan, gazing out at Central park.

What I have: A job that doesn’t totally suck, that I can tolerate most days, and that pays most the bills. Is it my chosen pursuit. Uh, no. Even close? Big NO. You think I wanted to end up stuck behind a desk all day, pushing papers and fielding questions? I fit more into the “general course or progression of one’s working life” definition. I don’t hate my job, but I really don’t love it. It’s a good job for someone that doesn’t have a college degree they worked five years for, in a field that has no relation whatsoever to healthcare.

The activities on my suggestion list for Career: “Build a portfolio highlighting your work.” Okay… I got the order placed on time three days in a row. I know how to make a formula in Excel (sort of). Another option: “Block out 30 minutes networking time for each week next month.” Okay… What’s networking time? How about: “Seek out a mentor to advise you on career matters.” Okay…first I would have to want my particular “career” to progress forward. Then I would have to figure out how to get myself a mentor. It’d be wiser and probably easier to get a sugar daddy, then I wouldn’t have to worry about any future career moves.

For the program, I am logging that I “organized my work space for maximum efficiency”, which I did several months ago and I set up my electronic calendar with all my daily reminders for next year. That took about ten minutes. I also made new file folders for 2011.

Whew. What a day. I barely survived. I need a drink.

Root Beer Vodka, anyone?

This entry was posted in Trial Seven: 12 Days of Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My chosen pursuit.

  1. Evgenia says:

    Am I wrong that you did smth related to your college degree right after college?

  2. Wendy says:

    Yes, I did. For about a year. I worked at a zoo until I got fed up with my boss and quit… as every always does at that place. Good memory. 🙂

Leave a Reply

