The Perfect Mashed Potatoes

I have never been able to make a good mashed potato dish, unless of course, it came out of a box. I gave up on leaving the nutritious skins on years ago. I’ve tried adding chives, cheese, sour cream, milk, butter, but I have never found the right combination of ingredients. 

Jordan’s mom makes the best homemade mashed potatoes, therefore, any attempt on my part is graded on how close it comes to Mom’s. I’ve prodded her multiple times for her secrets, but she claims she has none. Jordan’s last attempt at her recipe ended in a big, runny, garlicky mess.

So tonight I called her with potato peeler in hand, and jotted down verbatim exactly what she does. I was full of questions:

What kind of potatoes? – white ones (oh, ok)

How much butter? – a big blob (right-o)

How much milk? – until it looks right (sure)

In the end, Jordan said they were close, really close. My best attempt ever. So congrats to me! My “secret”? I put a TON of butter in it, and then I put some more. Then a little more. Julia Child would have been proud. It was probably 3/4 a cup of butter. I can feel my arteries clogging up as I type. Now, I’ll go finish my heart off with some of the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bread Pudding my darling husband made this weekend. IF, I can win the fight with my son for it.

This entry was posted in Baker and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Mashed Potatoes

  1. Tracie says:

    peanut butter bread pudding! yeah, send that one to ben please! 🙂

Leave a Reply

