I am woman, hear me ROAR!!!

Monday night I came home, started a load of laundry and went to take a shower. 15 minutes later, I was clean and my laundry room was flooded. Great… We had been gone all weekend (Friday from 4:30pm to Monday at 8pm) and needed clean clothes almost immediately. Being too tired to deal with it, I left it for Tuesday.

Still not having time to mess with it, but not wanting to send our son naked to school the next day (which is better than in dirty clothes, in my opinion), we dumped clothes in, filled it up with soap and water and agitated it with our arms. We then drained in, rinsed it, drained it and called it “clean”. Into the dryer it went.

Tonight, I broke out the big guns.

With help from my boss and a little God-send I like to call Google, I had a game plan. I put Riley to bed, busted out the largest screw driver I could find, and stood in front of the washing machine, daring it to cross me. This is the story of that fated meeting…

 

7:35 – Spent seven minutes trying to get the top off of the washer.

7:42 – Went back to Google. Realized you have to take the front off first. Oh…

7:47 – Got the lid off, despite the YouTube video telling me to press down on the hinges, when in fact I needed to “pry up”.

7:48 – Found culprit. Clogged tube (about 4-5 inches of clogging) running into wash basin. (Thanks Boss!)

7:49 – Inserted toothpick as instructed by Google search. Nada. Inserted Chopstick. Goo moved, but UP and not DOWN and out.

7:52- Took apart ballpoint pen to use as additional poking device to no avail.

7:53 – Used existing mix of bleach and water in a spray bottle to shoot up the tube and loosen things up. Minimal amount of said goo ran out.

7:54 – Realized black sludge must be sucked out. Yea… Spent 5 more minutes pondering who would do this “sucking” since I was home alone. Contemplated rigging something with vacuum cleaner. Decided to take rest of machine apart. Saw hinges, nuts, bolts, and screws and went back to pondering the sucking.

7:59 – Fetched towel to barf in and cup of water to wash mouth out, after sucking was completed.

8:01 -Finally psyched up enough to do it. Sucked. Minimal amount of goo flew into mouth. Gagged repeatedly.

8:03 – Psyched myself up to do it again. Most of goo flew into back of throat. Barfed. Rinsed. Barfed. Rinsed.

8:04 – Not being able to bring myself to suck the remainder out a third time, I angrily shot bleach water up the tube. I stopped the tube up with the nozzle of the bottle while spraying, and realized that given enough water pressure at the top, it could actually push the rest of that goo out.

8:06 – Plan worked! Goo flushed out. Toothpick, chopstick and pen all trashed. Wished I would have paid more attention to that whole “gravity” and “water pressure” part of science class. Repeated washed mouth out. Gargled. Brushed teeth.

8:10 – Success! Washing machine filled up and did NOT overflow. Immediately called boss to share good news, then husband, then dad (who wasn’t home to revel in my glory, darn you!) Blog writing started.

8:40 – Laundry is on “rinse” cycle. Job here is done. Still feel a little something in the back of my throat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am woman, hear me ROAR!!!

  1. Larry says:

    Wow! and free food besides…………

  2. Jamie says:

    ew ew ew ew! But congrats… I think

    • Wendy says:

      Yeah, ew ew ew ew. Daddy and Jordan are both very proud of me… but they don’t know what I did yet. I feel so dirty… 😦

  3. Joshua says:

    Wow!…wow! Really? Really? Wow!

  4. thats awesome. you’re awesome. *high five* i think a truffle is needed lol

Leave a Reply

