Black and White

Sooooo Black Swan

You know I had to see what all the fuss was about. One of my friends walked out during the lesbian love scene. She said her husband walked out with her, but I am pretty sure it was because she either dragged him out by his ears or threatened him with bodily harm. What guy doesn’t want to see Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis making out? In fact, Mila is so hot, I’d have a hard time telling her no.

The movie is about a ballet troup performingSwanLake. Since I am a little rusty on my ballets, (I’ve been focused on Nordic gods as of late, well, mainly just one in particular) I am glad they had the director of the ballet (are they called directors?) give us a short run down of what Swan Lake is actually about, since it is kind of essential for understanding the movie.Jordanmissed out on this part, since he didn’t even make it though the opening dance scene before he was sawing logs next to me. (Breathe Right strips be damned!) At8:30at night. He was sorely mistaken if he thought I would wake him for the lesbian action.

Natalie Portman seems to be a little crazy anyhow, but she really snaps when she gets the lead in the ballet as the Swan Queen. She has to play the White Swan (a virginal, sweet, innocent girl) who is turned into a swan. The spell can only be broken by her one true love, the Prince. But before he can free her, he is seduced by the Black Swan (who I think is supposed to be her sister…?). The White Swan is overcome with grief and kills herself.

So, now that that is out of the way… She is great at the White Swan, but can’t push herself into being the Black Swan. But we the audience knows the Black Swan is somewhere inside her, judging by her hallucinations, the scratches on her back, and the general downward spiral she begins to descend down. She shuts out her mother (who seems a little crazy too), goes partying with Mila (leading to the love scene, which turns out to be all in her head…or was it?), and in the end… well I don’t want to ruin it for you.

I read a synopsis of the movie long before I watched it, and I was glad I was armed with that knowledge going into it. It helped me make sense of her hallucinations and helped me decide whether or not it was all in her head (that Mila was out to get her/ the lead in the play) or if the director was setting the stage to help turn her into the Black Swan (by having Mila mess with her head).

I was resolved to the ending before I saw it, since I knew what was going to happen, and I liked it that way. It allowed me to like it more, and when the credits rolled up to the sounds of the audience clapping at her performance, I smiled.

It was well done, if not a little slow at the beginning, and the character development was intriguing. Natalie Portman did a really good job, portraying this innocent girl on a downward spiral, and in the end, being essentially two people within, White and Black. (Must be what that Oscar nod was all about.) Figuring out which Swan will triumph was the cool part.

So go watch it, I don’t want to ruin it for you. But it is probably more of a girl movie too. Lots of dancing…

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black and White

  1. tracie says:

    i watched this on the plane to vegas. i did not have any insight beforehand and when it ended i was like… “what the (&$#@@ ?!” i was most confused by the killing of the black swan. if it was metaphorical, why was is mila first? i dunno.. i thought it was too weird.

  2. Wendy says:

    I think that there was this dark side of her waiting to get out (the black swan) and she projected it onto Mila as a way to handle it. She wanted Mila to be the bad one, not what was really in her. Her good (white swan) was struggling with her bad (black swan) for control and the black won out when she stabbed her white self. haha i know it sounds ridiculous…But in the end, when the white swan dies, you can see she is still both the good and the bad. As the white swan, she just wanted to be perfect in her performance. and she was. so she was okay with dying. But hey, I dunno. 🙂

Leave a Reply

