Falling for The Fall

I want to tell you about a cool movie I just watched- one of the coolest I have seen in a while. It’s called The Fall. It stars Lee Pace, who I loved in Pushing Daises (a show that SHOULD have been BIG, but didn’t get the following it deserved.) He is in the new Twilight movie playing Garrett, a cocky, charming, loner Vamp and his King Thrandil in The Hobbit (Legolas’s father.) If I just lost you, that’s ok, I’m moving on.

He plays a stuntman who tried to commit suicide after he is dumped. He ends up in an infirmary with a little girl who has a broken arm. He starts telling her an elaborate story with great characters. I want you to see it, so I am not going to spoil it. The director seems a little wacky, so the movie is of course, great. There are no special effects, which will surprise you once you see the color and the landscapes and the artistry in it. To me, it seems more art than a movie. The poster is actually based off a Salvador Dali piece.

He tells a story of five men (and we see it through the little girl’s eyes): The Blue bandit, the Italian explosives expert, the former slave, an Indian who lost his lover, and Charles Darwin. These men were banished to an island together by the bad King Odius, in hopes they would kill each other. Their hatred for him binds them and they go on a journey to find and kill him. Along the way, the meet a mystic born of a tree (really cool scene), a princess, and armored guards whose voices are those of dogs (they growl and bark).

Each character is seen by the little girl as someone in her daily life; the orderly is Darwin, the nurse is the princess, the slave is ice man. It’s neat to see the people transform from one realm to the other. Sometimes you meet them in her real life first, sometimes in the story first.

This movie was filmed in 24 countries, in deserts and cities and castles. It was also filmed in sequence, so the English of the little girl would improve along with her real relationship with the man telling the story. The first time they met was in their first scene. You can see she is nervous, but grows to really like him. A lot of the acting was ad libbing. They would prompt her to see what she would say. You can really tell this in the movie. They are just two people having a conversation at times, sentences that run off track from the script, but make it that much more real. Pace is paralyzed from the waist down in the movie, and the director told everyone on the set he really was paralyzed, so the acting would be less acting and more real. He was wheeled from his dressing room to the set and only three people knew he could really walk (him, the director, and the guy pushing the wheelchair.) At one point, someone walked into his dressing room, saw him standing and passed out. (Soooo I guess this person knew too.)

There is a strong use of color in this movie. One guy wears all green, the bandit has a deep red mask,Darwinhas this awesome pimp coat. Those colors, set amongst the amazing landscapes proves to be so visually stunning I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen long enough to dip my cookie in my milk. The emotions are so strong. The two actors are perfect together. Seeing the emotional journey the little girl goes through as she gets attached to the characters in the story is surreal.

You will laugh, you will cry, you will walk away wanting to watch it again, because you know you missed so much. You will google Lee Pace and see what else he has done (Woah… Soldier’s Girl looks…hmmm. I liked Possession, but I like to choose the alternate ending and not the theatrical one. It means so much more that way.) You will finally be able to finish your milk and cookies.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Falling for The Fall

  1. Jenna D. says:

    Late response, I know, but I just got this DVD in from Netflix on Saturday. I have watched it 4 times (2 of those were with the different commentaries…also, should I admit that? haha.) I haven’t been this taken by a movie in a long time! You rock for suggesting it! Also, I’m marrying Lee Pace. (You knew I had to throw some love for him in, too.) How has this film been out for like 5 years and I never heard about it? What a shame..it’s amazing!

    • Wendy says:

      Jenna! Im so glad to know you love it! Congrats on your upcoming nuptials! Since you are marrying Lee Pace that frees up Christian Bale for me. But I think we should frequently trade out husbandsmaybe an every-other-weekend kind of deal? Well discuss later. If you like Lee Pace, be sure to check out Pushing Daisies. Its irresistibly charming. It was only one season long, but should have been a bit hit. The right people didnt get plugged into it, I think. Its so clever and witty and Lee Pace is brilliant, as always. Also watch Possession. Sarah Michelle Geller is just average, but its worth a watch. Hes kind of a bad boy in that one, and totally sexy. Tell me which ending you like better. I watched The Fall, wanted to watch it immediately again, burnt it (shhh), lent it to larry with promises of going to bill r next, and I have been craving it ever since. There is so much to see. I watched a lot of interviews on youtube. Now I am dying to watch the commentaries! I have bugged LJ about it several times maybe he will watch it soon so I can see it again. I need to spend just an afternoon with it. I read that there were NO special effects (not sure I put that in the blog). But all those colors no enhanced. The scenery the same. So gorgeous. The director is a little nuts, but all the great ones are. 😉 Thanks so much for your comment. So happy to hear you enjoyed it! 4 times!

  2. Wendy says:

    Jenna! I’m so glad to know you love it! Congrats on your upcoming nuptials! Since you are marrying Lee Pace that frees up Christian Bale for me. But I think we should frequently trade out husbands…maybe an every-other-weekend kind of deal? We’ll discuss later.

    If you like Lee Pace, be sure to check out Pushing Daisies. It’s irresistibly charming. It was only one season long, but should have been a bit hit. The right people didn’t get plugged into it, I think. It’s so clever and witty and Lee Pace is brilliant, as always. Also watch Possession. Sarah Michelle Geller is just average, but it’s worth a watch. He’s kind of a “bad boy” in that one, and totally sexy. Tell me which ending you like better.

    I watched The Fall, wanted to watch it immediately again, burnt it (shhh), lent it to larry with promises of going to bill r next, and I have been craving it ever since. There is so much to see. I watched a lot of interviews on youtube. Now I am dying to watch the commentaries! I have bugged LJ about it several times… maybe he will watch it soon so I can see it again. I need to spend just an afternoon with it. I read that there were NO special effects (not sure I put that in the blog). But all those colors – no enhanced. The scenery – the same. So gorgeous. The director is a little nuts, but all the great ones are. 😉

    Thanks so much for your comment. So happy to hear you enjoyed it! 4 times!

  3. Jenna D. says:

    I am totally ok with periodically trading off CB and Lee. I think that’s actually what heaven is like.

    I put the Pushing Daisies discs on my queue to come next! I’ll have to add Possession as well. I’m gonna give The Cell a try too- includes Jennifer Lopez but I will try to overlook that unfortunate fact and see what kind of other work Tarsem does.

    OH, and speaking of Tarsem, you should definitely watch the film with his commentary turned on..he has so many cool things to say about it. Also I just found out that he is the one directing The Immortals that comes out in November..really looking forward to that one! It helps that my OTHER (other, other, etc.) husband Henry Cavill is the star! (The guy from The Tudors that I made a huge deal about awhile back. LOL.)

    I hope you get your DVD back soon and that LJ and Bill enjoyed it too! I may have to do a little yo-ho-ho pirating myself (shh) because I still have the disc..seeing as I don’t want to send it away yet..because i’ll miss it when it’s gone. Weird? Yes. But i’m ok with this!

    P.s.- I MISS YOU.

  4. Wendy says:

    Heaven… yes. I watched The Cell a long time ago. I thought it was really weird. If you like,it, I’ll give it another try. I’ll definitely watch The Immortals now, esp with that Tudors guy in it! 😉 And no! It is not weird that you will miss it! I do!! I miss you too! How are things going up there? When does school start?

Leave a Reply

