Three Worth a Watch: A Survivor, A Married Man, and a Vampire


127 Hours – Aron Ralston is a mountain climber/hiker and manages to get his arm wedged up against a rock wall by a big boulder. To survive, he chops his own arm off and makes it out, living to tell. I recommend the book first “Between a Rock and a Hard Place” so you can know a little more about what’s going on in his head. James Franco plays him well. A whole movie with basically one character and one setting could get boring, but he manages to keep it going. It wasn’t as gruesome as I thought it would be, but seeing him purposely break his bones, tear through skin, and snap a nerve, was painful to watch. I could never have done it. I would have died right there in that rock and been buzzard food.

Hall PassOwen Wilson always cracks me up and he and Jason Sudeikis make a good comedic team. The premise is clever, Christina Applegate is funny, and who doesn’t love Jenna Fischer? (though she was really too tan in this movie). If you can deal with the occasional perverted joke and naked man (oh yeah, two of them. Just out in the open. Oogey), you should check it out.

 

Let Me In – This is a remake of the older Let the Right One In (which I haven’t watched yet). The girl playing the vampire was so great in Kick-Ass. I can’t wait to see more of her. She moves in next door to a little boy who is constantly bullied by kids at school. They become friends, people start disappearing/getting murdered, and a detective starts lurking around (bad idea, dude). It’s not as thrilling/scary as I expected it to be, which was good. It’s a smooth ride. Lots of blood though. I did like the traditional vampire take of what happens if they enter a room when not invited. I liked the ending, too, but I won’t tell you what happens. 😉

 

This marks my last day for free streaming with Netflix. If I thought there was anything good out there, I’d stay up late watching it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

