30 Year Old Anger Issues

Tonight my Grandma lovingly told me a tale of when I went on a trip with her and my mom when I was little. She started off by pointing out, “One time I paid your mom’s way to Oregon.” (I guarantee you this is the ONLY time my grandma bought something for my mom without it being Christmas. Even then, she makes my mom pick out, buy and wrap her own presents.)

So I went on this trip to Oregon too. I was 1. And my Grandma got seriously mad at me while telling the story because I had thrown up on her. Thinking that my motion sickness must have started at a very young age, I asked her what happened. She said I puked all over her clothes and she had to change, “find some plastic to wrap it in” and cram it into her carry one bag before they checked it.

Then, while on the trip, she got sick of being there (visiting her sister and family and all, whom she rarely say) and wanted to come home early. I can only imagine how that trip went…

Then on the way back, I puked on her again. She told my mom “next time you can hold her and she can puke all over you!” She acted like I did it on purpose. ¬†And clearly, it was something she still hadn’t forgiven little one-year-old me for after all of these years!

I’m not sure what the protocol is on that. Do I apologize?¬†Surely my mom apologized for her BABY throwing up on her. Should I buy her a gift? A thoughtful card? Nab a random one-year-old on the street and have her apologize on the behalf of my baby self???

I think not. I’ll just take her a muffin.

 

This entry was posted in Grandma and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Year Old Anger Issues

  1. Judy says:

    Well 1st – I really don’t remember her paying for my ticket. But when it comes to money she has a mind like a steel trap so maybe she did. 2nd you were 18 mths & I told her it wasn’t a good idea to let you drink an orange drink. Don’t remember why but she was holding you in the car when you lost it. It was digusting but I warned her! I really don’t remember you doing it twice. She may not have enjoyed the trip but you & I had a blast!! I’d post a pic if I time.

  2. BrainRants says:

    I’d go to a Salvation Army and buy her something about that old and then take it to her and say, “Here, Gram, to replace the one I ruined by barfing on… feel better now?”

  3. Wendy says:

    Excellent idea… maybe a nice windpant suit? Or something with puff paint?

Leave a Reply

