Starving on Day Two

Day Two.

5:50 a.m. – Use brand new just-arrived-yesterday juicer in bathroom as to not wake sleeping son. Am impressed. Juicer rocks! Shove in an apple (whole), 5 carrots pulled in the dark and rain from the garden last night (I’ve GOT to remember to prepare before it gets dark!), a beet (there is now a red stain on my bedroom carpet from transferring machine back to kitchen), and some mint (also gathered in the rain and dark). Drink. Almost enjoy. Needs sugar.

 6:30 a.m. – Protein too low at last plasma draw. Go to work 45 minutes early. Contemplate napping at desk, but decide to work instead. Must eat lots of protein in next two days before redraw so I can keep giving. Need Galveston money. Plan on soy beans, protein powder and nuts. Might have to break cleanse and eat some chicken. Oh, darn. 

Update: Rouge bit of breakfast shrapnel from Day Onehas been removed. No invasive action was necessary. It was scared into submission and traveled down my throat on its own during the night.

8:00 a.m. – Getting pretty hungry.

8:12 a.m. – Told of doughnuts in the break room. Do not get up. I repeat: Do NOT get up.

8:24 a.m. – Beet burp. Eww.

8:30 a.m. – Daycare calls. Riley’s puking his guts out. Go get him.

9:30 a.m. – Starving. Drink half a mango coconut water smoothie. Pretty good except for the protein powder I dumped in it. 

9:31 a.m. -Choke on bit of cayenne pepper from smoothie that hit the back of my throat wrong.

9:52 a.m. – Drink rest of smoothie.

10:15 a.m. – Clean up Riley puke. 

11:00-11:45 am. – Eat lunch while butchering a butternut squash for supper. Lunch was julienne apple, radishes (which I don’t really care for), raw sweet potato (still think this is weird), celery (didn’t add. hate the stuff.), ginger, scallions and olive oil/lemon sauce, which I am growing fond off. But geez on the ginger already! Half the stuff I make calls for it. I didn’t really care for lunch. So excited I have another meal of it coming…

12:00 p.m. – Eat dried fruit and nuts. Pretend lunch didn’t cut it.

2:30 p.m. Eat 2/3 family sized bag of soy beans. Been addicted for a couple months now. They steam in 3 minutes and are delicious. Go back to work when hubby gets home.

5:30 p.m. – Eat 2 servings of yummy butternut squash soup. Go get medicine for Riley that I forgot the 2nd time I was in town. Bad mom.

6:30 p.m. – Gave husband supper suggestions. Even though the fridge is full, the counter is covered in produce and the pantry is stuffed, “There is nothing to eat”. Get hungry giving him suggestions.

8:15 p.m. – Ate one of Riley’s cheese crackers that he didn’t eat instead of putting it in a baggie with the others. It was SO good.

8:30 p.m. – Ate half a banana and 5 strawberries.

9:30 p.m. – Lemon and honey water.

10:30 p.m. – Ate another of the cheese crackers.

10:31 p.m. – Ate another of the cheese crackers.

10:32 p.m. – Ate another of the cheese crackers.

10:33 p.m. – Ate last of the cheese crackers. And loved it. Read zombie book in bed and went to sleep before I could eat anything else.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starving on Day Two

  1. Joshua says:

    I wrote the following lengthy comment out once and it just disappeared. Maybe these comments have to be approved by you before they show up. Anyway, here it is again in all of it’s glory. Enjoy!

    I don’t like to be the naysayer when someone is trying to make positive improvements, but I also do not like fad diets that promise miraculous results based on unsupported science. Don’t get me wrong, you may not be expecting a miracle, but then why waste one minute of your life on a program that doesn’t even work? Most “diets” prove to be unsustainable due to high cost, self-denial, or in your case maybe the food is GROSS. It seems more reasonable to make small sustainable changes that will positively affect your health and the health of those you love for a lifetime. I mean losing weight is easy. Calories in…calories out! I know it sounds like an oversimplification or maybe a slap in the face to those who struggle with weight loss, but when you realize, for instance, that most people consume the majority of their calories through what they drink and not what foods they eat it IS pretty simple. Drink water. However, weight loss shouldn’t be the end goal. Being at a healthy weight is a byproduct of an overall healthy lifestyle. I could go on and on about this, but I’ll end with some anecdotal evidence. Roughly 4 years ago my wife and I started making small changes (whole grains instead of highly processed, refined and bleached wheat products, water and milk instead of sugary drinks, more fresh fruits and vegetables, lots of lean protein, etc.) This wasn’t all at once, but small changes over a period of time to her weekly grocery list. Then we bought a treadmill and started walking, then the gym membership, then strength training, and now I am signed up for a half marathon in October. All the while I was becoming more informed. I can honestly say, now at 31 I feel better than I ever did in my 20s and I happen to weigh less too. I’ve seen this same progression in my boss. He happens to share an office with me and has been inundated with information over the past 2 years. He has expressed how much better he feels, and he is in his late 40s. I suppose the greatest change that I’ve seen in myself, my wife and my boss is a change in mindset. I love the healthy foods that I eat. I really enjoy running and strength training. I didn’t always feel that way, but I took small steps down a certain path that has led me here. I really hope I haven’t offended you, bored you or overwhelmed you. I pray I have encouraged you to continue! If you ever want more information on this subject feel free to ask.

    P.S.

    Here’s a quick shake I make for breakfast. It easily keeps me satiated until my lunch.

    1 Cup – Low Fat Chocolate Milk (Horizon Organic)
    1 TBSP – Peanut Butter (JIF Natural)
    1 Whole Banana
    1/3 Cup – Whole Grain Oatmeal

    Blend and Shake until smooth!

    Take care!

  2. Jamie Cumming says:

    This is coming from someone who would never have the will power to do a detox or cleanse, but I don’t think that the purpose is just weight loss. I think out is meant to jump start healthier eating by cutting out the not so healthy things you eat and teach your body to crave the healthy things instead, then you transition to just a regular healthy diet. At least the friends I have that have done them use it that way.
    Wendy already has a healthy lifestyle eating vegetables that she even grows in her huge garden that I am super jealous of, and whole grains. I think it is that weakness for the sweets in the break room that she was trying to kick here. So glad I don’t work anymore, break room food is tempting! 😉 Also, she feeds her son super healthy whether he likes it or not 😉
    all this to say, don’t worry about this girl’s health she has got it under control.

Leave a Reply

