Clearing my cleared mind.

My early morning meditation yesterday bordered on successful. I sat in my living room (not leaning on the couch) with my eyes closed, my back straight, my arms relaxed, and my tummy fed. I was able to eventually block out most sounds, most thoughts and the cat rubbing his face on my hand. I THINK I got my mind clear once or twice, but as soon as I am aware it is clear, I start thinking, “Is my mind clear? Is it?! Did I do it?!” Then I realize my mind isn’t clear any more and I start over. Those thoughtless moments are very fleeting. How do men find it so easy to be thoughtless?      😉

I had a weird morning today, so I decided to practice my meditating tonight before bed. I plan on sitting on the floor and not thinking for as long as it takes to not think. I thought I’d give clearing the days thoughts out of my head a go. The last two nights, as I lay in bed, I’ve practiced clearing my mind, but more to fall asleep than to meditate but I ended up keeping myself awake trying to not think.

Meditating right, is hard work. I read that once you get it, how to clear your mind, that you can do it any where, any time, at will. This will be very helpful for those long days at work that just won’t end, standing in line at Wal-Mart behind the lady in the “20 items or less lane” that counts 40 tins of cat food as 1 item, and waiting at the gyno’s office for my ever-so-favorite checkup of the year.

This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clearing my cleared mind.

  1. I am an avid meditator now… but it took me forever to get here. I had little patience, had trouble sitting still, could never empty my thoughts… until I found a great meditation program called Holosync by the Centerpointe Institute. Because they created CDs of carefully and scientifically crafted sounds that access specific brain waves, there is virtually no effort to the meditation. You just put on your ear phones and relax.. and magically this method will bring you as deep as a Buddhist monk! I’ll never do any other kind of meditation. You should check it out!

  2. Wendy says:

    Wow! Thanks for that! I will definitely check it out. It sounds really interesting…

Leave a comment